• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Trusting the Numbers 6: A promising beginning, and a setback

Step 1: Getting out of PEM and moving toward stability

Brain fog summary:

I thought I was resting well enough, but I got into trouble anyway.

So when I can, I rest without doing anything else.

I don’t even listen to anything.

I move around when I feel like it, at least every hour.

But I’m not very good at making myself rest.

Step 1: Getting out of PEM and moving toward stability

The first step of this journey is reducing symptoms and stopping deterioration. This is taking me some serious rest time. It’s easy for me to rest when I’m feeling awful, since all I want to do is lie there, but harder once I start feeling better—and that is the bulk of the time.

This stage is lasting longer than I expected. It has taken me time to learn to rest well, to accept that serious rest is necessary, that simply keeping my heart rate down isn’t enough.

If I had it to do over again, I would stay upright much of the time to avoid making my POTS worse, but I would also rest deeply, as much as I could. That means lying down in a quiet room, eyes closed, nothing to listen to. It wouldn’t have been easy.

As it was, I spent a lot of time watching calm videos (getting less calm as time went on), listening to music podcasts, and playing gentle games on my phone, all lying down. If I had it to do over again, I would sit up more, but when I was lying down I’d try to rest even better.

Changes in my heart activity