• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

I recovered to 80% and relapsed and it's all logical and I'm gonna recover again.

I'm an engineer and have approached this black box of a disease as such: entertain working theories but only act upon results.

I was bed bound and brainfogged in 2008 and 2009. I took my recovery in my own hands when the doctor said: "There's so much wrong with you, I don't know where to start!"
My reaction: "Then it probably doesn't matter where I start either. I'll start with digestion then."
Thanks to studies and trials I worked my way through digestion; hormones; adrenals; nervous system; sleep and I slowly recovered to a housebound level. In May 2014 I healed miraculously overnight and got to 80% health at x-mas 2014.

My working theory:
  1. everybody has their own personal bodily signature that facilitates the onset of their version of ME
  2. in every PWME the Autonomic Nervous System is perpetually scrambled.
My solutions:
  1. identify personal factors and address them. (In my case: Progesteron deficiency + insuline hyper sensitive + always in Fight or Flight + never slept through the night + MAO A kaput + hyperalert personality + hear and smell everything + a virus/bacterie in Spring 2008 + shot adrenals)
  2. take away all (personal) stressors that bug the ANS + teach it to react different to impulses.
That last one is not so easy but the ANS and the brain are plastic and fluid, you can teach it new ways.