• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

At a crossroads....fell down on my knees.

In all the 21 years of being ill, I have never really had a job. I became ill at 18. I was never able to finish college. I have a 2 year degree, but unlike many, that isn't good enough for this type A personality female that I am.

Six years ago, by accident, I started making jewelry and it took off. In one month I made $800 dollars. That was when I first started. I couldn't believe it....I may be on to something here! So, I put my energy into being a jewelry designer, had a website built, made some amazing contacts and amazing sales. To have a show and walk away with a couple thousand dollars was so surreal. I always made minimum wage, and maybe a $100 a week.

But with anything, when something takes off, you have to keep up with the demand. The problem with that is, how can you when you are ill? So here I have this great product, I am looked at for once as being a productive human being, but I am sick.

As the years roll on, my business is still in the works even though the economy has taken a toll on it. But, my health is declining. And not even due to the job. I am able to work from home. I am able to set my own hours. In fact, the job is a light in my never ending darkness known as CFIDS. I was able to take a vacation that was quite expensive due to this job. I have nicer things because of this job. I am grateful.