• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Is increased hunger a common side effect of b12 therapy?

I am new to Fredds protocol so I'm sorry if this is something that has already been discussed a ton. However, I couldn't seem to find any mention of B12 and extreme hunger.

I am just starting this protocol and have likely been deficient in b12 for 2-3 decades without being aware of it. I have all sorts of neuropathy that I previously assumed was autoimmune but doctors could never find any explanation.

I'm starting off very low with the b12 because even 500mcg causes noticeable Refeeding symptoms (mostly low potassium). I've upped my potassium and my methylfolate and I take a multivitamin/multimineral supplement to cover my cofactors. I feel pretty damn good overall on the b12, the one side effect I currently have is feeling like I need to eat all the time. Is that normal? Or is that a sign of some type of deficiency?

L'engle

moogle
It could be to do with a missing co-factor. It's probably a good sign that your system is trying to do something it hasn't been able to do for a long time. Are there any particular foods you crave or just food in general? I was very hungry in the months where I was recovering from low ferritin for example.

It could be any kind of deficiency or co factor, or something else. If you feel good anyway that is something!