• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

New symptoms while on active protocol

I've been doing the active B12 protocol for the last 9 months with great success. I've had CFS for almost 10 years and this has protocol has gotten me back on my feet and almost living "normally."

I've had blips in the process but increasing potassium (and occasionally magnesium) seems to do the trick. When I started the process, I struggled with folate deficiency, but increasing my dosage addressed this as well and I've settled into a 4,000 mcg dosage.

But this time, the symptoms have been markedly different. Tingling and numbness in my limbs, headaches, tight muscles, heat intolerance, minor palpitations, irregular breathing, but only a small increase in my overall fatigue. These all tend to increase into the evening and night time. I'm now into day 5 of the symptoms and am struggling to get myself back on track.

I've tried potassium, bumping up my metafolin by 1,600 mcg, and magnesium, to no. In the past, my BP and HR increases would be the telltale signs of potassium need, but I haven't had those this time around.

My current regimen is 5mg mcbl, 1mg Adcbl, 4,000-5,600 mcg metafolin, 300mg LCF, 60 mg zinc, 1200 mg Lecithin, 2000 mg Vit C, and a multi that doesn't contain folic acid.

Any suggestions?

Freddd

Hi Mayo,

For starters I would suggest looking at these symptoms lists and seed if you fit one or two of the patterns shown. There are also anpother dozen or more induced deficiencies that could be occurring.