• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Hack my reaction to NAC - advise needed

Hi, this is my first time writing in this forum. Several months ago I started a NAC supplement (jarrows). After a couple of days I noticed that my back became very stiff. The left lower back became slightly painful, as if with inflammation, and the rest of the back was rigid. I'm 35, but I felt as a rheumatic 70-year-old. It took me a while to relate this to the NAC, but as soon as I stopped the supplement my back went back to normal.

Yesterday I started taking undenatured whey and I'm feeling the same sensation in my back. Browsing through the forum, I've learnt that both NAC and whey are gluthatione precursors. I have to say that even though I'm trying my best to educate myself about my health issues, I don't know much about methylation. But the fact that I had some form of reaction to the 2 supplements made me curious and I decided to tap onto your knowledge.

So I would like to ask you guys, who are much more familiar with methylation, whether you think that reacting to these 2 things has any relevance and, if so, what you think it indicates.

I'm going to start reading the information available on the forum, but if you could point me to any place to start gathering information on the topic, I'd be more than grateful.