• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Taurine: Another Deadlock Nutrient?

mgk

Magnesium deficiency is one area where I've made no progress even though I've been supplementing over a gram for several months now. I also take regular epsom salt baths and put magnesium into my drinking water. Still my symptoms come back within a few hours after taking the last dose.

It's almost as if it enters my bloodstream, stays there for a few hours, and then goes right out. I want it to enter the cell and stay there. I was researching this problem and came across the following quote:
A taurine supplement is worth considering. Taurine transports magnesium (and potassium) into cells (both these minerals should reside primarily inside rather than outside the cell).

Source: http://www.mgwater.com/inmgdef.shtml

Interesting, but I can't find any accessible references for this role of taurine. There are a few papers that are referenced here and there (the wiki page, Life Extension page on taurine), but they are beyond me and I don't understand how they arrived at that conclusion based on them.

Anyway, let's take that statement at face value for now: "taurine transports magnesium (and potassium) into cells." We also know that taurine is a byproduct of the methylation cycle through the CBS pathway.

Here's the speculative part: If taurine is insufficient, magnesium can't get inside/stay inside the cell. If magnesium can't stay inside the cell, it can't act as a cofactor in the cycle to create enough taurine. Seems very similar to the situation with carnitine and ATP.