• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Could this be an early XMRV? The JHK virus

xrayspex

Hey interesting thread. I decided to wander over because I noticed out of my peripheral vision that this thread just keeps on keepin on....I've been busy over in the treatment sections, cus I'm a patient. So wait, there are people writing frequently at this forum, mostly about xmrv, that are not cfs patients? That does seem odd to me, man, if I didn't have some sort of bogus pain and "fatigue" crap going on I sure wouldnt be spending my time here. and if I was a scientist I would guess I would go to forums designed specifically for scientific colleagues to share ideas....it seems bizarre to go a support forum for an illness and argue with the patients, if that is what is going on. I have to say though, I am impressed with how knowledgeable some of you m.e. sufferers are! Wow, reading this thread, I feel more convinced by currer and bob's approach than the naysayers. And honestly, I don't feel an investment in xmrv having to be our "thing" or not, I just want to get to bottom of these similar illnesses (fm, cfs, sjogrens, connective tissue etc) as something epidemic does seem to be going on. Anyway, thanks to you guys who do understand the science and can hold the fort and who care about what happens to us.

alex3619

Warning: Philosophy Alert