• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

“Super Infection Therapy” - Could Using A Harmless Virus To Treat A More Virulent Virus Work As A Treatment Option For COVID-19?

Wally

A group of virologists have proposed that “Super Infection Therapy” (“SIT”) be tried as a possible treatment option for COVID-19.

https://www.mossreports.com/superinfection-therapy-sit-vs-covid-19/
Superinfection Therapy (SIT) vs COVID-19

Apr 1, 2020

By Ralph W. Moss, PhD.

I have been a medical journalist for the past 45 years, investigating innovative treatments around the world. In 1991, while on a trip to Eastern Europe, I met scientists pursuing a very unusual type of treatment called Superinfection Therapy (SIT). The basic idea is that if someone has a viral infection, you can sometimes knock it out by giving them a second albeit harmless viral infection.

The idea came from clinical observations of unrelated viruses interacting in patients. Infection by one type of hepatitis virus (e.g. HCV) is often terminated after accidental infection by a second hepatitis virus (e.g. HBV). In such cases, one virus dominates over the replication of the other virus. Nevertheless, in cases when both viruses are pathogenic the disease persists, and hepatitis remains.

An international consortium of virologists propose Superinfection Therapy testing on COVID-19