• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Low dose abilify effects on anxiety

godlovesatrier

Hi all,

I wanted to find out if anyone had noticed low dose abilify improved their anxiety? I started a new job last year and the pressure of it has gradually got worse as times gone on. I work in tech so things change all the time which makes it a lot worse. But I'm finding my memory is getting worse and worse and my ME is certainly not improving (it briefly improved in a period with less stress) but I now feel like work stress is making it impossible.

As we all know anxiety induces spikes in cortisol with regular cortisol increases outside of those spikes and these suppress immune function reactivating a wide variety of pathogens. Inc ebv, rna viruses like COVID or Coxsackie and bacterial load (streptococcus, candida etc).

So I wanted to know if ability reduced your anxiety? Mines prob a 6 most of the time, before this job it was prob a 3 or a 2 most of the time. I think valtrex is currently preventing me from going into a much more severe crash due to stress.

But I don't really want to try ability if it's going to mess with my microbiome (it kills a lot of important bacteria like akkermansia and my akkermansia disappeared two months ago for the first time in two years) and my hormone levels.

Thanks for any insight! Dr Bansal has recommended I try low dose abilify. And I have a GP letter good to go.

hapl808