• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Income Protection Insurance Australia

Haley

Hi All,

I've been managing to work part time since initially getting sick (5 1/2 years) but it's been getting harder over the past few months as I'm sliding from mild towards moderate. I only just remembered that I have income protection insurance (thanks brain fog), and am wondering if anyone has any experience or advice with making a claim for partial disability through income protection insurance.

I am studying with the aim of getting a desk job that I can do, but it will be another year or so until I can get a job in that field.

I have read that there may also be a condition that if they pay out once for a condition, that they will not may out again for the same condition. That's a bit of a worry for me... what would happen if I can't work after a few years in the new profession?

Does anyone have any knowledge of this area , or where I can get some more info? I'm trying to gather info before contacting the insurer as I'm sure they will try to get out of paying anything.

Thanks in advance!

Dechi

These things are so particular from one country to the next, and from one insurance company and even contract to another, that you really should consult an attorney. You might have to pay for 1 hour of their time but at least you’ll have the right answer.

Do your research and find someone knowledgeable in chronic illnesses, and particularly ME.

AndyPandy

Making the most of it
@Haley