• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Horrible Brain Symptoms, Declining Rapidly

crypt0cu1t

IG: @crypt0cu1t
I'm at the end of my rope here, I have a diagnosis of Autoimmune Encephalitis, but I have YET to get any treatments for it and I've been relapsing for 6 months now.

I don't know what to do.. I am mainly housebound as leaving the house triggers severe anxiety/panic attacks/derealization. Watching tv causes headaches and dizziness and don't even get me started on trying to play video games... I can't handle anything even remotely stimulating..it's horrible.

I have horrible pressure in my head, blurred/dim vision, nystagmus, derealization, fatigue, Hypersomnia, dizziness, confusion, distorted vision and now I'm developing lack of emotion... I don't know what to do. The fact that this all started with smoking weed is driving me insane.

Last edited:

xebex

This sounds horrible! And awful that smoking weed triggers it! Sorry to hear that. :(

I can only approach this with my ME experience rather than experience of auto immune encephalitis but here goes.

My suggestions would be aggressive resting - ie rest in bed for a week with no reading or tv or any kind of stimulation, only get up to pee and eat.

I’d look into reducing glutamate levels In Your diet and maybe trying gaba enhancing supplements like theanine and possibly even Gaba but I’m not sure Gaba actually crosses the blood brain barrier.

look into NAC and/or RALA to help glutathione levels and detoxing

Cut out added sugar and make sure carbs are whole foods and not refined.