• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Studying with CFS

I just wondered if anyone on here has experience of studying a degree with this illness. My degree is 100% exam based with intense memorising required... which I feel is the worst combination for managing CFS.

Tomorrow I'm due to start my final year of my degree (mainly self studying as I opted out of lectures due to them being in the evening which I find over stimulating and negative on my sleep).

My new ideas for this year were going to include handwritten notes only so as to avoid crashes from using the computer. It doesn't stop my crashes from reading too much though...

My other idea was setting a time for ever twelve minutes to have a break of closing my eyes or neurological rest?! Not sure if this is going to help ?

I would be grateful if anyone who studies / works could share any tips.

Thank you in advance. :)

And my main symptoms now are cognitive and immune system dysfunction : fatigue and brain fog and chronic sore throat and frequent infections.

Apologies for the bulk of writing.

Cheesus

Sorry, I don't have any recommendations about how to manage studying directly.

However, if you haven't already, I do suggest you speak with whoever does student support in your department. If they know about your circumstances they can help you with various things such as longer exams to allow you some rest time, acknowledgement of mitigating circumstances when the exam board meets, and possibly spreading your final year over two years if it is appropriate.