• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

other illnesses with viral causes (MS, cancer, etc.)

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the CFS community. Just got DX'ed a few weeks ago, and I've only been sick for a couple of months. In fact, my DX isn't exactly official, just one doctor's opinion based on my viral test results and my list of symptoms.

I'm already starting to feel better (combination of melatonin and other supplements, plus antivirals) and I think my prognosis for recovery is good. What I'm wondering is, what are the long-term implications of this type of infection (EBV + mild CMV)? I have read EBV is linked to MS as well as certain cancers, and many CFS/ME/FM symptoms are similar to MS (some of which I have).

Does anyone have any insight, based on research or personal experience, as to the odds of one thing leading to another? Anything I/we should be doing for prevention?

Esther12

I think that it's all rather uncertain at the moment. I read something about a treatment to reduce inflammation during acute infection, but I think that was still somewhat experimental, and you will be past that point now anyway. The link with MS is still not well understood, but I think that association is just with certain responses to EBV (which over 90% of adults are infected with), rather than with mono/glandular fever (assuming that's what triggered your fatigue). Viral infections are never going to be a good thing, but it seems that there's not much that can be done about this, so it's probably not worth worrying about.