• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

I'm a newbie - help appreciated !

Hi I'm after some advice .

A few days ago I was diagnosed with CFS by a consultant at a CFS clinic. I'm waiting for a letter confirming my diagnosis .

My consultant has advised I reduce my working hours ASAP.

I'm currently on my 5th week of sickness from work . It's not going to be financially viable for me to reduce my working hours but I also know that the hours I do are going to be unattainable.

I also have young children so it's not a case of being able to work and rest . It's work , more work , rest at normal bed time .

Sometimes , I'm so tired I can't even speak - I can manage a grunt !

How do people cope financially?

I've heard PIP is nigh on impossible to get with CFS .

I can't qualify for tax credits - even though the HMRC websites say they class someone as disabled if they can't work an 8 hour day , 5 days per week...

BUT to tick the disability box , you have to be in receipt of other disability benefits - which I can't get !

It's a vicious circle : what do I do ?

Hi,