• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

14 years of something

It started out in high school as IBS symptoms. Then, a few years later in college, I'd find myself zoning out a lot. I lost the energy I had in high school. After I graduated college I felt tired all the time with brain fog that I swear gets worse every year. I slept solid, though. After a few years on Adderall I started having problems sleeping. I took a year of prescription sleep medicine. I then stopped all medications. Fast forward a few years and I'm waking up in the middle of the night almost every night. What's weird is that my brain fog and heavy fatigue are somewhat relieved when I get a poor nights sleep. When I sleep well, which isn't often, I get heavy fatigue and heavy brain fog, making speech, chores, and work very hard. My memory is also shot when this happens.

I don't have joint pain, but do have nerve pain in my ulnar nerve most of the time. When lying flat I'll sometimes get nerve pain in my legs and big toe.

Is this similar to what you guys experience? Any suggestions for figuring out what's going on?

I've had these tests all come back normal: B12, Thyroid (TSH, T3, T4), Glucose, Celiacs, Testosterone (though a little low), Cortisol, Hashimoto's antibodies, ANA levels, and other basic well-being tests.

No matter what, I'm dealing with either insomnia or chronic fatigue + brain fog. Any suggestions on what else I can do?

p.s. I got my IBS under control in 5 years after I eliminated fruit juice, beer, and soda from my diet.

adreno

PR activist