• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Eye fatigue and strain

littlebird6180

I've had ME for at least 20 years so this is a new symptom. In the past week, I've developed powerful eye fatigue and strain. I'm a graphic designer/artist so am at my computer a lot during the day. My eyes are starting to feel really strained though almost immediately when I arrive at my desk and look at the monitor. This has never happened before. They feel really bothered by the brightness so I dim the monitor but that doesn't seem to provide symptomatic relief.

And by the end of the day, they're just incredibly dry and hurt a lot.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

belize44

I have similar issues, so here's what I do. For the dryness, I use prescription eye drops designed for moisture, or a bit of warmed organic Castor oil applied to the lower lid with a Q-tip. This is also good right before sleeping because it may blur your vision for a few minutes. Also, moistening a tissue with rosewater and gently applying it to the closed eye for a few seconds at a time, is wonderfully soothing.

I do eye exercises where I look out my window at the furthest point I can, wait a few seconds,then focus on another point a bit nearer, etc. until I am looking at the windowsill. I do this several times, then move my eyes back and forth, up and down, diagonal, and so on. You can also look online for eye exercises. Sometimes I wear sunglasses if the brightness of the monitor is really bothersome.

The eyes just need variety or they get strained, even more so with our health challenges. Hope that helps!:)