• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

brainstem dysfunction and altered homeostasis

kaffiend

This is my first time posting here. My apologies if a related thread already exists.

This study appeared in NMR in Biomedicine. There's a lot of jargon in the abstract, but my field of research is (was) functional brain imaging, so I can unpack some of it if there are questions.

A brain MRI study of chronic fatigue syndrome: evidence of brainstem dysfunction and altered homeostasis

Barnden, L. et al, 2011.