• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Suddenly sleep quality has become unbearably worse

starlily88

I am told my cortisol is screwy...too high at night...too low in the morning. But since I passed the test I don’t think Hydrocortisone would help me..
Sorry you have had to be on meds so long. But I hope it has helped you. I wonder if all of us have high cortisol at nite - and that's why most of my friends that have this, can't sleep past a couple hrs at nite.

@soxfan , how are you these days?
I'm new on this site but I have CFS for 6 years and "lot of experience" :)
Your sleeping problems and other symptoms are same as mine. For the last 3 years I almost don't sleep at all and when I sleep (5 hours max) it doesn't make any difference to my energy level in the morning. I feel like sh.t!
I tried everything... I'm hypersensitive to antidepressants so I stopped them completely; plant supplements are usually helping a bit for few days and then the agony starts again. The best way psychologically is to accept this situation and not to increase the stress even more. During the day avoid every physical stress, don't use stairs, don't lift heavy things, don't run, don't talk loud and long, use every possible help! Physical stress is worsening the sleep in my situation.
2 days ago I started with D-ribose, low dosage 2x2grams, and I sleep a bit better. I have more energy too but I don't know if that is from ribose or from sleeping 5 hours last night. I have to wait for at least 10 days to see if this will help long term.