• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Mitochondrial Deficiencies

T

Terri

I have only recently discovered that I have CFS (after 14 years of mis-diagnosis) so I am new to all the different treatments and myriad of theories surrounding this illness. I am in the process of putting together a plan for myself of different tests and or treatments I want to try but of course would prefer (because of the financial end) not to reinvent the wheel. I do understand that not everything works for everyone but it seems to me that the members here have a lot of good experience and knowledge.

One treatment I have looked at is testing for and addressing Mitochondrial deficiencies. I read an article about this here:

http://www.drmyhill.co.uk/article.cfm?id=381

Has anyone taken this test or tried this recommended treatment? What are your thoughts on this theory being a component of CFS?

Thanks!

Terri

Tony

Still working on it all..
Hi Terri,

My guess is that you've likely worked out how to pace your life. I think Dr Myhill makes some good points.
Another take on ME/CFS is here by Prof De Meirleir who I've seen. I think they would agree on most things, like healing the gut as a priority for most of us.

Cheers
Tony

richvank