• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Do this mean I have POTS? (heart rate +35 stand test)

sometexan84

I did a test this morning w my Polar HR monitor and Elite HRV app.

Can anyone w POTS please help me interpret? Looks like a +35 avg heart rate, and +34 max heart rate.

Laying Down (recording after waking up)

1606595623987.jpeg

Standing Up (Straight, recording after getting out of bed)

1606595721973.jpeg

DrUniverse

Godfather
POTS is +30 Heart Rate raise from laying down to standing and/or Heartrate > 120 standing.
So yeah its clearly POTS (but im not a REAL Doctor though ;P)

S-VV

Possibly. Have you measured your standing blood pressure? You may have well compensated (or even over-compensated POTS). This is important because treatment is basically the opposite for hypotensive and hypertensive cases.

sometexan84

The reason I wanted to measure was because lately I've felt my heart pounding so hard in my chest, especially when lying down. And often pulsating strongly in my stomach area.

Also, very cold feet, and numbness in my hands and legs.

DrUniverse

Godfather
Ye i feel that, typical symptoms. Get Eletrolyte / drink a lot of Water. Basic Treatment for POTS. For more u have to address the underlying cause. (Virus/ Mito Dysfunction)
You can measue ur blooid pressure with several tools available at the internet.

sometexan84

I bought a blood pressure monitor on Amazon yesterday because of this. It came today actually so I got to test.