• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Transferring Benefits to Puerto Rico- Help

sparklehoof

Hi,
I'm a RI resident and was awarded SSI & SSDI, Medicare and Medicaid in 2003.

I'm interested in learning if there is a way for me to legally collect full benefits.

My SSDI is about $342/month which won't be enough.

Does anyone have experience with this?

Denise

@sparklehoof - I am not sure what you mean by full benefits. Can you provide additional details?

FWIW -as I understand it, SSDI amounts are based on one's pre-disability earnings so the amount one receives should be the maximum for what one's earning history provides.

sparklehoof

Yes, you are correct based on my understanding as well. I became sick at 19 and started working at 14, but I didn't have enough work history to bring my SSDI benefits over an amount that they calculate (somewhere around $699) to where I don't need additional support. The SSI is a state program that can supplement the SSDI of an individual who doesn't have enough work history to survive on SSDI alone.

For ex. If I became sick at 45 and worked full time from ages 22-44, than I would have probably earned more than enough money from my work history to where I wouldn't need supplemental support from the state. With SSDI, my understanding is that you are allowed to be married without losing your benefits, you can have more than $2,000 worth of assets at a given time, and you can move relatively freely between states.

minkeygirl

But I Look So Good.
Why not just call SSA and ask them?