• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Some doctors have deep contempt for patients

Gijs

Doctor Robert Forbes wrote:
I have been a family physician for43 years.
Have practiced in rural Nova Scotia, the Canadian Arctic and Mississippi.
I am sorry but I don't buy any of this!
I have had patients with chronic fatigue, fibromyalgia (which I call fibro- my life sucks!),
attention deficit disorder, autism, chronic yeast infection, premenstrual dysphoric disorder, and now, systemic exertion intolerance disease. Try lazy!
All of them seem to want disability, disabled parking stickers, amphetamines, narcotics or Xanax. And they usually get them only to add to their problems.
I fear we contribute to this in a big way by legitimizing their complaint.
We have become a very dependent society and I am ashamed and concerned.
Fortunately I am semi-retired and fear no retribution for my free speech.
I did try to be respectful.
Thanks for the opportunity.
Just saying...
http://www.aafp.org/news/health-of-the-public/20150302newchronicfatigue.html

MCRobbie

There are more doctors who feel this way than would care to admit it but this is a particularly stunning quote. Its Breathtaking the abject stupidity and ignorance this man displays especially now that we ALL (except for this idiot) know how dizzyingly complex human health is, both good health and poor. To settle on the, "these people are just lazy" explanation, my god what century is this guy living in.

Mary

Moderator Resource
Wow - I just read the rest of the doctors' comments. e.g.:

"3/5/2015 1:46 PM