• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Persistent dandruff.

bananabas

I'm not sure this is ME-related, but it seems that when my symptoms flare up, so does my dandruff. And I'm talking big flakes, which pruduce itches bad enough to wake me up in the middle of the night scratching. Anyone else experience this? And what remedies did you guys find?

For me only thing that has helped is Vichy Dercos anti-dandruff shampoo. If I do not use it for a couple of days, my head start itching. For some reason no other brand has helped. I have been using it for a couple of years now.

bananabas

For me only thing that has helped is Vichy Dercos anti-dandruff shampoo. If I do not use it for a couple of days, my head start itching. For some reason no other brand has helped. I have been using it for a couple of years now.
That seems to contain selenium disulfide as the active ingredient, can you confirm?

I'm not sure this is ME-related, but it seems that when my symptoms flare up, so does my dandruff. And I'm talking big flakes, which pruduce itches bad enough to wake me up in the middle of the night scratching. Anyone else experience this? And what remedies did you guys find?
It might be due to inflammation. The best thing that has helped for me is avoiding shampoos with Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (or alternatives with Sodium ____ Sulfate) and other irritants. Anti-dandruff shampoos tend to be highly irritating, and are designed to penetrate the skin somewhat, which is also not helping.