• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Llewellyn King interviews Dr. Lipkin: ME/CFS Alert, Episode 95

Ember

Dr. Lipkin comments on his involvement and on funding levels:
I actually started very early with ME, although we didn’t know that it was ME at the time. When I was a resident in neurology at University of California in San Francisco in the 80s, I saw some of the first cases referred by Dan Peterson in Incline Village And then in the mid to late ‘90s I was asked by the Centers for Disease Control to investigate whether of not Borna viruses could be the cause of what was then known as CFS. And then more recently, as you alluded to, the whole XMRV controversy, which came about, you know, in the late 2000s [sic]. So I’ve been interested and sort of on the outskirts, if you will, on the periphery of this field for a very, very long time. And I have tried at various points to get into it in a more substantial way, but the resources weren’t there (3:05 – 4:00).