• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

As Needed Anti-Anxiety Treatments?

Hi there,

After living with intense symptoms for years, I've decided that I want to try some sort of anti-anxiety treatment to help me through particularly bad days. I've had medical marijuana and Xanax recommended to me before, but I've never actually tried taking them. Does anyone have any experience with this, what works well, or how different medications or supplements might interact with ME or fibromyalgia?

belize44

I have been using Xanax on and off for nearly ten years. I find that it really helps me relax for sleep, but I don't use it in the daytime hours because a very small amount makes me incredibly drowsy. Of course there are dangers in that one can become dependent upon tranquilizers, so maybe medical marijuana would be a better choice?

Learner1

Hi there,

After living with intense symptoms for years, I've decided that I want to try some sort of anti-anxiety treatment to help me through particularly bad days. I've had medical marijuana and Xanax recommended to me before, but I've never actually tried taking them. Does anyone have any experience with this, what works well, or how different medications or supplements might interact with ME or fibromyalgia?

About 75% of pharmaceutical drugs damage mitichondria, especially psychiatric drugs.

Your symptoms are real, and you are wise to take action, but there are other choices...