• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Article: Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) associated with Epstein-Barr virus infection.

Good afternoon, I'm a medical student, I'm sick with CFS, and together with my girlfriend, who is already a medical graduate, we've written an article about this disease. Our intention is to share the information we have gathered over the years. The article is in Spanish, but we will soon try to translate it into English, as we do not have a good level of English.

Abstract: Chronic fatigue syndrome or myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME/CFS) is a disease of unknown etiology at present, which appears suddenly in a previously active person and whose onset appears to be related to an acute infection in most cases. Until now, CFS patients have been studied without classification into pathogen subgroups. The Epstein Barr virus (EBV), like other pathogens, is able to generate a functional immunodeficiency acquired through the deficit of expression of class II molecules of the major histocompatibility complex in genetically predisposed individuals. However, some pathogens also succeed in reducing the class I molecules of MHC. This study aims to show how the viral cycle of EBV and its mechanism of immune evasion can generate CFS and what the metabolic and physiological consequences are.

I'm sorry if there are mistakes with the translation.
A greeting,
Manuel Ruiz

EDIT:I attach the article already translated
Article: https://www.safecreative.org/work/1806287515904-sindrome-de-fatiga-cronica-por-virus-de-epstein-barr

Attachments