• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Enteroviruses - revisited

JollyRoger

A propos .. what is a
non-cytolytic form???
Can they be harmful?
When I take the drug over a long time (many with depression take it for years) and suppress the active form of the virus I should be symptome free.
Is oxymatrine effective for the non cytolyic form?

Im a ME newbie (8 month).... not so long as the case of the immunsupressed boy.
Does this mean that changes are high for me to get a remission??

Last edited:

Hip

Do we know of anyone who has tried pirlindole at the right dosage?

I don't know anyone, but I would not have thought pirlindole is going to be much better than fluoxetine, and we know that fluoxetine is not really the answer for ME/CFS, although it may possibly help a bit, as so could form part of an antiviral cocktail.

And forgive me, but what is 2C?

It is a viral non-structural protein; these are proteins encoded by viral genes and synthesized by the virus, and are critical for the viral life cycle. So if a drug inhibits such viral proteins, then it inhibits the virus. Enterovirus has a number of non-structural protein, including: 2A (inhibited by nitric oxide / nitric oxide donors), 2C (inhibited by fluoxetine and pirlindole), 3A (inhibited by itraconazole and enviroxime), 3C (inhibited by rupintrivir and nitric oxide / nitric oxide donors).

what is a
non-cytolytic form???

It's explained in this post.

Im a ME newbie (8 month).... not so long as the case of the immunsupressed boy.
Does this mean that changes are high for me to get a remission??