• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Depleting intracellular calcium stores a good idea?

AdamS

Hi all,

I was reading the recent Australian research here about defective calcium channels in ME/CFS patients and then stumbled upon this:

Depletion of intracellular calcium stores activates a calcium current in mast cells
http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/v355/n6358/abs/355353a0.html

This seems to link up with what the Australian study suggests about having to deplete the calcium stores first. I'm no expert and usually just try to piece together info out of desperation because I want to try get better :) but does this idea of depletion (like the way B cells are depleted using Rituximab) hold the key to flicking the switch forcing a reset in ME/CFS?

Does anyone think it would be possible/worth trying to deplete calcium stores then boost TRPM3 using Pregnenolone or something similar? Or is it waaay too soon to assume that would help ME/CFS sufferers in any way? (I have no idea how you would safely deplete calcium stores because ionomycin looks pretty dangerous but just thought i'd raise the question).

Cheers,

AdamS

Marky90

Science breeds knowledge, opinion breeds ignorance
Way to soon..

Someone else might say otherwise, but yeah. I`ll stand by that.

alex3619

I am not sure we can safely deplete calcium stores, period. How would you do that? Which drug? How would you ensure safety? You cannot just use diet to do this, you might leach calcium from your bones and wind up with hypocalcemia which could be fatal.