• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Mitochondrial and Energy Metabolism Dysfunction in ME/CFS — Myhill, Booth and McLaren-Howard Papers

Murph

:)
Forgive me if this is a stupid question, I'm no biochem expert - but could my recently discovered significant energy boost from eating large amounts of coconut oil possibly be relevant to this discussion? https://nutritionreview.org/2013/04/medium-chain-triglycerides-mcts/

i read your link and was somewhat unsure whether to trust it. But this paper I found on PubMed suggests medium chain triglycerides may be very relevant *if* some of the Krebs cycle intermediaries are deficient.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27868154

(edit at a later date to ping @Hip who I seem to recall was very interested in anaplerotic supplementation in another thread)

Nb this paper suggests a risk for females in long-term supplementation https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25887160 (for mice at least).

Last edited:

Alexi

I suspect the mito blockage also triggers some kind of allergic / anaphylaxis response. IMO all roads lead to the immune system and one way or another. Would be interested to hear your thought on this....

Everybody talks about the immune system being involved, but what about the people that didn't get sick before getting cfs, that just woke up one day and then boom they had it, I could tell you the exact day I'll never forget it. I don't think my immune system has anything to do with it, knock of wood I haven't even had a cold for like 3 years.