• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Can Lupus cause low blood oxygen levels and fast heart beat?

Thinktank

With lupus anything is possible. If there's pulmonary and/or cardiac involvement i think a low blood oxygen level and tachycardia is possible.
Do you suffer from lupus?

Peyt

With lupus anything is possible. If there's pulmonary and/or cardiac involvement i think a low blood oxygen level and tachycardia is possible.
Do you suffer from lupus?
I am not sure.
I am going to see my ND tomorrow whom I have been working with for a couple of months. He has discovered that I have low oxygen (around 96-97) and faster than normal heart beat. (around 100-103). I also get headaches all the time and
have SIBO and gluten sensitivity.
He also discovered my low B12 which I have been getting shots for.
I also have dry and itchy skin and excess mucus since I was a kid.

So I was thinking of asking him to test me for Lupus Anti-bodies.

Thinktank

@Peyt , if lupus is suspected you really have to see a rheumatologist for proper testing and diagnosis.
Do you have any of the more obvious lupus (SLE) signs? Like a butterfly rash on the cheeks, lesions, hair loss, fever, painful joints etc.?

What do you mean by lupus antibodies? Do you mean AntiNuclear antibiodies (ANA)?
This can be negative in some cases of lupus. To check for lupus and other conditions a rheumatologist will probably also do the following diagnostics.
C3
C4
CBC
ESR / CRP
Anti-ds DNA
Anti-SM
Anti-RNP
ANti-SSA/SSB
ANCA (maybe also MPO3 / PR3)
Liver profile (albumin, AST/ALT etc.)
Urine analysis

Kati