• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Magnesium Deficiency?

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on this forum.

I'm 19 years old and I was a vegetarian for 8 years. Last summer, I tried to switch to veganism and started to experience symptoms of B12 deficiency. I have been taking mb12 for a month and it didn't seem very effective until I greatly increased the number of potassium rich foods I was eating––raisins, carrot juice, apple, avocados, etc. After doing this for two days though, something seemed strange––I felt very wired and I couldn't sleep. When I did try to fall asleep, I'd feel a pins and needles sensation all over my body. Soon enough, I completely lost my appetite and I started experiencing arrhythmia and tachycardia. Within two days, I started experiencing panic attacks. The panic attacks got worse and worse and I eventually ended up in the ER. The doctors there assumed that the cause of my panic attacks were genetic, as he did a basic serum test and couldn't find anything. He said my EKG was slightly off though. I went to another doctor and he also assumed that it was genetic. I have a much closer relationship with this doctor though, so he will be willing to work with me more.

I'm wondering if I have an induced magnesium deficiency? Or maybe something else?

jason30

Welcome to the forum. :)

I think it's hard to say if it's a magnesium deficiency. My advice would be doing a good blood test which gives you more information if there are any deficiencies present.