• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Why would B12+folate cause GABA to reverse its effect?

It may be moot by now, but this sounds like potassium deficiency. When GABA is taken up by a neuron, ammonia is released. Ammonia contributes to excitotoxicity, and potassium is one method by which it is transported from the brain. It's really hard to keep potassium up when you jump into a high dosage of folate/b12.

I think. I'm a newbie.

@Violeta,

Thank you for your many contributions to this thread. Sorry for my delay in responding!

I wish I knew what to say about histamine. No question, it became a big problem after I got sick -- but so did other things, such as tyramine, purine, and, above all, glutamate. I suddenly became severely carbohydrate intolerant, too. At various times I have focused on each of these issues only to conclude that something deeper is at root of all of them.

Regarding Ben Lynch's comments on 5-MTHF and Parkinsonian symptoms: I am familiar with this post and wish that he would say more. Basically, he recommends stopping 5-MTHF, supplementing B6 and Mg instead, and reintroducing 5-MTHF down the line. But I have been supplementing B6 and Mg for a long time; in the case of Mg, I try to get as much into my system as possible. With this in mind and with the results of my methylation panel, I thought that I was ready to move forward with 5-MTHF.