• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Tryptophan neuroinflammation article

PeterPositive

Wouldn't one notice an increase in negative symptoms if the tryptophan was taking the wrong pathway?
I have been using 500-1000mg/day of L-tryptophan for the past 6 months without noticeable side effects, so I'd presume it's not causing any harm.

I don't have experience with melatonin supplements, and 5HTP doesn't do good things for me, so I can't help much on that.

cheers

liverock

I have also found taking 1,000mg of tryptophan just before going to bed to improve sleep and mood the following day. Its probably only a small subset of PWME who are having problems
with tryptophan.

john66

Ray Peat writes about tryptophan and it's effects on the body. He also claims fish oils and put a ' s are bad. Lots of youtube info as well.

SwanRonson

I've honestly never known what to do with Ray Peat. He seems to know his stuff. But it's so contrarian at certain points combined with being so voluminous that it's almost impossible (for me) to critique.

I think the tryptophan-neuroinflammation/fibromyalgia connection has an awfully strong familiarity with the tryptophan disaster of 1989 resulting in eosinophilia myalgia syndrome, and interestingly, even pure tryptophan supplements have been tied to this disorder and other problems - I'm new here so I can't post a link but google to read a scholarly article on that "L Tryptophan: The Truth About The FDA Tryptophan Recall Of 1989"

SwanRonson