• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Need help for another member with CFS-help!

Misfit Toy

Hi everyone,

Another CFS/ME person lives in my area with ME. She is not doing well and may have to soon leave where she is living. It wasn't an ideal situation and hasn't been.

She has SEVERE ME/CFS and POTS. Where, or who should I call for a living arrangement for her? She may need nursing home care. In fact, that is what she wants. She is young. I am not sure how to do this.

She doesn't have many financial resources. She has health insurance.

I would like to help her, but I am not sure of how since I have never had to find nursing care (or be in a home) and she is thinking of a shelter, which I think with POTS would not be a good idea. She can't really take care of herself completely. She is bed bound.

I am worried about this person and need guidance.

I am not qualified for this, as in I am not sure who to call and would love any suggestions. She is quite sick, so I am just trying to brainstorm and help her out because she has much less energy than myself.

Gingergrrl

Sadly in the US these people fall through the cracks and no housing options really exist for someone like her and I speak from (former) professional experience.

Is there any chance of her living with family or hiring an aide to come to her home for bathing, shopping, cooking etc.

Sometimes if you call the multi service senior center in her area (even if she is not a senior) but explain she is homebound and disabled they can get her some resources and if she gets Medicaid she should quality for IHSS.