• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Anyone tried Galantamine for Vagus Stimulation?

Has anyone tried the drug galantamine to stimulate function of the Vagus Nerve. It acts as a cholinesterase inhibitor and also nAChR7 agonist. The latter may provide protection against inflammation in rodent sepsis models. It could certainly slow the heart some, as a side effect can be bradycardia so this may benefit POTS/OI.

sillysocks84

I haven't heard of it yet. I'm also really new to this disease and forum. I hope someone else will post their insight on this. Sounds like an exciting possibility anyways, after everything that has been tried hopefully something could be of help :)

sillysocks84

Psychiatry Investig. 2009 Sep;6(3):204-10. doi: 10.4306/pi.2009.6.3.204. Epub 2009 Jun 23.
The effects of galantamine hydrobromide treatment on dehydroepiandrosterone sulfate and cortisol levels in patients with chronic fatigue syndrome.
Turan T1, Izgi HB, Ozsoy S, Tanrıverdi F, Basturk M, Asdemir A, Beşirli A, Esel E, Sofuoglu S.
Author information

Abstract
OBJECTIVE: