• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Anyone had an abscessed tooth?

Turns out I have an abscessed tooth and right next to it is a colossal cyst (which could be a Guinness world record contender) eating away my jaw. It has me wondering how much this is effecting my health/symptoms. I get the impression by some things I have read about infections generally, that it could contribute. But I couldn't find any testimonials like "hey, I just got my abscessed tooth pulled and have much more energy".

Anyways, I should be getting operated on in the next few weeks, I'll see what happens.

perchance dreamer

I've had abscessed teeth, and the only 2 options I've ever known of is either to get a root canal or an extraction.

I've had both done. For an upper molar in the back, I had an extraction and chose to get a removable bridge (partial) rather than getting an implant.

I've been extremely satisfied with this. I have no problem chewing and don't feel it at all. I put it in in the morning and leave it in except for cleaning. I remove it at night.

However, that wasn't an option when I had to have 2 lower teeth extracted. We tried root canals, but they didn't work.

The removable bridges are generally a better option for top, not bottom teeth. Maybe they sometimes work on lower teeth, but I have lots of inherited excess bone on my lower gums called tori. It's a benign condition, but the bulk makes it impossible to have a removable bridge without extensive surgery.