• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Help Dutch professional Ballet dancer with M.E.

Grigor

Hello everyone,

I wanted to share with you the campaign of the Dutch ME/CFS foundation.
I'm sharing my story to create awareness for M.E. in The Netherlands but also world wide.
I used to be a professional ballet dancer and since my 29th I've been suffering from ME.
Hopefully the big contrast with being a professional ballet dancer to a handicapped ME patient will move something.
Help me share my story by email, Facebook or other places around the world so we can help end this bleeping illness.

Thank you very much in advance.

You need to turn on the subtitles. If you don't know how to do it follow this link.https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/100078?hl=en

Link on YouTube :Interview Anil van der Zee | ME/CVS Stichting:

Grigor

Sauna was terrible for me. Had to recover for a few weeks. Very much to do with Orthostatic Intolerance.
Anyways I'm not really posting to find a cure for me personally here. Just want to share and raise awareness for Myalgic Encephalomyelitis.
But thanks for asking. Appreciate it.

did you try sauna therapy, (infrared or dry)
Heat tends to be pretty bad for ME patients. Heart rate rises to try to cool us down, except it doesn't work too well for whatever reason. And then we end up getting exhausted and sometimes with our heart rate staying too high for hours or days.

Grigor

Thank you Matthew Jones. Well I can't say you're welcome. Cause I do it as well for myself.
Anyways share it. You never know who will see or read it.