• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

How Our Botched Understanding of 'Science' Ruins Everything

ahmo

I found this an interesting discussion on what defines Science. But maybe I'm a newbie to this.
http://theweek.com/article/index/268360/how-our-botched-understanding-of-science-ruins-everything
Here's one certain sign that something is very wrong with our collective mind: Everybody uses a word, but no one is clear on what the word actually means.
One of those words is "science."

Everybody uses it. Science says this, science says that. You must vote for me because science. You must buy this because science. You must hate the folks over there because science.

Look, science is really important. And yet, who among us can easily provide a clear definition of the word "science" that matches the way people employ the term in everyday life?

So let me explain what science actually is. Science is the process through which we derive reliable predictive rules through controlled experimentation. That's the science that gives us airplanes and flu vaccines and the Internet. But what almost everyone means when he or she says "science" is something different....

adreno

PR activist
I'm not sure exactly how everything is ruined? Science doesn't have the answers to everything, but it sure beats religion. But I agree that lots of people talking about science (i.e., in the media) really have no idea what it means.

eafw

Most people do have a very poor understanding of science, not sure that this article is particularly helpful though.