• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Confused about alleles...

Hi All,

I'm SURE this is a very basic question for you folks, but I'm still new to this stuff.

I've looked at my 23andMe results through a few different analyses, and I've noticed some discrepancies. One is from "livewello.com" I believe, and the other analysis is the "Sterling" analysis done through MTHFRsupport.com

For example:
The "Sterling" analysis shows my results for NOS2 (rs2248814):
"risk allele: A
my results: GG"
Thus, it reports that I am "-/-" for NOS2

MEANWHILE, My "Livewello" report, run on the SAME data set, for NOS2 (rs2248814) shows:
"risk allele: A
my results: AA"
Thus it reports that I am "+/+" for NOS2, just the opposite of the other report's finding!

I gather that not everybody will always agree upon which allele is the "risky" one. But to me it looks like the two different analyses both agree that "A" is the risky allele, but also seem to think that MY alleles are different in one interpretation from the other. What am I missing here?

Thanks!

ALSO,

I just opened up the BIG raw data file from my 23andMe results and searched for the gene. Here's how it reads:

"rsid chromosome position genotype......

rs2248814 17 26100321 GG"

jepps

Hello together,