• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

23andMe /Genetic Genie results for me & my daughter…. lots of +/+ ! Suggestions?

Hi All,
I'm new to this… and here are our Genetic Genie results…. I'm hopeful this new info will help each of us with our problems - especially my daughter's because she really struggles with a lot of things…and she seems to have a relatively high number of mutations (am I correct?) I hope this may finally lead to some solutions for her...

What jumps out to me is she's ++ for MTHFR C677T and I'm hetero for C677T and A1298C… but she has a lot of other +/+ and +/- … and there so much info out there that I don't know where to start!

So I would really appreciate any help to figure out what to do next…
1. What we can do on our own? I've been unemployed for a while - so I have the time to research but no $!
and/or
2. Where can we go for good paid help? Ideally in the SF Bay Area or online (for when I finally get a job!)
3. Have you really seen improvements when you follow recommendations to address these issues?

Any other input on these results is very welcome!

And if you can only or want to give input on just one of us, that's welcome too, but my daughter is my priority.

Thanks!

Here are the results for each of us:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.51.04 AM.png

Or, if it's easier - here is the info broken down by each of us by +/+ and +/-

Daughter"s
Methylation

Homozygous
BHMT-08 +/+
CBS C699T +/+
MAO A R297R +/+
MTHFR C677T +/+
MTRR A66G +/+

Heterozygous
BHMT-02 +/-
BHMT-04 +/-
COMT H62H +/-
COMT P199P +/-
COMT V158M +/-
SHMT1 C1420T +/-