• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

The Resistant Starch Challenge: Is It The Key We've Been Looking For?

MeSci

ME/CFS since 1995; activity level 6?
I would think you're right. I am seeing researchers are already experimenting with RS and d-lactic acidosis and hypothesizing that increased fermentation of malabsorbed carbs would lead to headaches and mental confusion may be a sign of "short bowel syndrome" and thus d-lactate acidosis. I'm not a doctor, but maybe someone else more qualified than me can comment on that.

That would be quite a shame since butyrate and SCFAs is something everyone seems to need more of.

There are several threads on d-lactic acidosis, so if anyone wants to read up on this in connection with ME, do a title search for d-lactic acidosis.

Ripley

There are several threads on d-lactic acidosis, so if anyone wants to read up on this in connection with ME, do a title search for d-lactic acidosis.

However, I'm pretty sure that while those individuals eat a low carb, ketogenic diet, I would imagine that they probably eat some complex carbs. In any case, even diabetics follow a ketogenic version of the PHD, with success, and just eat less safe starches. Since rice doesn't offer many fermentable fibers (you could literally extract most of the glucose by chewing it for an extra 20 seconds) I would think that rice would be a good source of glucose for those individuals and they would just skip the fermentable fibers. But, again, I'm not a doctor and don't know enough about it.