• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

CLOCK gene and sleep disturbance

roxie60

I just came across this one and I know many of us struggle with sleep disturbances. I'm just curious if we can gather some SNP info and see if this gene / SNPs could also be markers or thy just might be comorbid (I think that is the term). This is just a thread for those wanting to contribute to researching CLOCK genes/SNPs and see if there is a correlation to our experiences. Disclaimer, I'm no expert so take any info provided on thread as is, not claiming it is correct.

I stumbled on the CLOCK gene (isnt that a cute name for gene potentially associated with sleep issues)
in this study http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3044192/

Here are two SNPs discussed, let me know if you find anymore that seem relevant. Post your results if you want to share.

CLOCK rs3749474 Risk allele (C), I'm CC
CLOCK rs3736544 risk allele (A), I'm AG (note T=A ifusing 23andME which I am)

bel canto

Roxie - I have the same alleles - CC and AG, and I have severe problems with my sleep.

roxie60

thanks for sharing bel, I have no idea if this is relevant to our search for answers but thought it might prove interesting and hopefully provide some possible reasons for our experiences with sleep disturbances. Sadly have found no answers, options to resolve.

Here is one more

CLOCK rs1801260 risk allele A (I'n not sure really), I'm AG

There also is evaluation of PER2 and PER3 genes impacting sleep but not found enough info yet.