• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Could anyone help me evaluate my adrenal stress profile results?

Hello, this is my first try at testing and I am not sure what the results mean in terms of whether I'm trying to manage 'high' cortisol or 'low' - any feedback would be great. My basal temps are always on the floor, fluctuating anything from 34.9c to 36.6c throughout the day.

Sample 1 Post awakening (outside range high) 26.8 nmol/L
Sample 2 +4-5 hours (outside range low) 4.6 nmol/L
Sample 3 = 4-5 hours 4.2 nmol/L
Samole 4 (Prior to sleep) 1.0 nmol/L

Total Daily Cortisol 36.6 in a range of 21-41 nmol/L

Dhea am 0.93 High
Dhea pm 0.66

Dhea Cortisol ratio 2.17

Townie, could you please post the actual ranges with your results?

Ema

Thanks Ema,

Sample 1 Post awakening (outside range high) 26.8 nmol/L Range 12-22
Sample 2 +4-5 hours (outside range low) 4.6 nmol/L Range 5.0-9.0
Sample 3 = 4-5 hours 4.2 nmol/L Range 3.0 - 7.0
Sample 4 (Prior to sleep) 1.0 nmol/L Range 1.0 - 3.0

Dhea am 0.93 High
Dhea pm 0.66

DHEA Mean 0.80 Range 0.20 - 0.70

DHEA Cortisol ratio 2.17 Range 0.6-3.0

Ema

I think if those were my results, I would look into some herbal adaptogens to see if you could mitigate your swinging rhythm in the first part of the day.

Your high AM result is causing an overcorrection at noon but the rest of the day/night looks pretty good.

I would look at rhodiola, rehmannia, schisandra, or astragalus and see if any of those sound like they would work with your symptom profile.