• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Help Interpreting 23andme Results.

Hi I'm new to all of this and I find it all so confusing. I ran my 23andMe results thru hixxy's program and got the following:

MTHFR A1298C +/-
MTHFR C677T +/-
MTHFR 03 P39P +/-
MTRR R415T +/-
MTRR 11 A664A +/-
ACAT1 02 +/-
VDR BSM/TAQ +/-
CBS A360A +/-
CBS C699T +/-
COMT H62H +/+
COMT V158M +/+
MAO A R297R +/+

I'm so new to this I don't even know what kinds of questions to ask. I just read the heartfixer page. Obviously I'm going to need to read it several more times. And I have a background in biochem (from ages and ages ago). :eek:

Based on the info I've seen it looks like I might benefit from B12s, but might be sensitive to methly donors because I'm COMT ++? Because of my CBS + I'm likely to be low in BH4? Does anyone know if any of the above results will affect my glutathione levels?

Any advice on how to get started on understanding all of this is welcome!

nanonug

MTHFR A1298C +/-
MTHFR C677T +/-

This indicates you are compound heterozygous for the two common MTHFR mutations. This means you are not so good at converting folates into the essential methylfolate form, necessary for methylation. As such, it would probably be a good idea to supplement with methylfolate instead of folic acid.

greenshots

This is one of the problems with doing it at 23&me. Its alotta work for the savings. You will need to go on heartfixer's site, Dr. Ben's, and others (I added one below) to understand alotta this stuff. but it can be done :)