• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Newbie - simplified protocol or full monty?

Johnmac

I hope no-one minds a basic question from a newbie. I don't have autism or CFS, but this seems to be one of the few forums where methylation can be discussed - & I am presently very interested in that.

Firstly, condolences to all on the death of Rich van K - an inspirational man. I hope it's a slender consolation that he continues to help people (greatly in my case) even in his absence.

I've been chelating mercury with the Cutler protocol for 16 months, & (with the help of hydrocortisone, dessicated thyroid & a pile of supplements) have improved quite a bit from the adrenal fatigue that put me on the floor in the middle of last year.

However a recent long (30-day) round of cheation stirred up serious reactions to thiol (sulphur) foods that are still ongoing. I've been fairly dysfunctional for 3 months, & can't do any more chelation.

I gather this (& probably many other problems going back years, such as low energy & brainfog) may be related to faulty methylation, & am now keen to explore that.

I'm reading Dr Yasko's book, & quite a few websites - tho I am still a real amateur.

Dr Nathan's study on 21 CFS patients with a standardised protocol of (chiefly) methyl B12 & methyl folate had good results. But it's a bit disappointing that only 22% in the forum survey at http://forums.phoenixrising.me/index.php?threads/rich-vanks-simplified-methylation-protocol-poll.3579/page-2 gained "major improvement". (Isn't it?)