• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Methylation issues / COMT Met/Met and poor acetylator

Hi all,

(Sorry for the lengthy first post - I will try to make it shorter in the future... ;))

I am new to this fantastic forum :thumbsup: and would like to introduce myself and the issues I am currently facing:

I am living in Germany (Europe's #1 Lyme country... :() and suffering from stage 3 Lyme disease and chronic Bartonella infection - likely caused by a tick bite in 2002 - since late 2008 (only finally diagnosed in 2010), and due to prolonged antibiotics therapy, I now also am affected by CFS/mitochondriopathy.

Due to the Bartonella infection (which is currently treated with Levaquin with yet unknown outcome) and the fact that I have the COMT Met/Met variant (causing decreased deactivation of stress hormones), a hyperactive nervous system, and a permanent feeling of subtle anxiety for no known reason are my current main issues (against which I am taking "some" Clonidine and 3 mg of Bromazepame per day).

In addition, I already know that my phase 2 detox system is negatively affected by reduced GSTP1 activity, a "null" GSTM1 and two NAT2 variants making me a slow acetylator - which caused several issues with my tolerance of antibiotics in the past...

I am also undergoing treatment for CFS/mitochondriopathy, which included - in addition to several other vitamins, minerals etc. - the following i.v. injections twice a week:
  • 5mg of Methylcobalamin
  • 10mg of Adenosylcobalamin
  • 2 amps of Glutathion 600mg
  • 3 amps of NAC (300 mg acetylcysteine)