• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

any suggestions for swollen neck glands?

This is not a new symptom for me but I am new to PR and I just thought someone on here might have some suggestions. Does massage work? Heat? It feels like a tennis ball in my throat!

mellster

Marco
If you want to reduce the swelling, ice is pretty much the only way to do that. Instead of heat you can try to move around and improve your circulation (if you can exercise at all) or try lymphatic (drainage) massage. Best to find the source (bacterial/viral infection)and target it, but usually docs are no help on this quest. All the best.

Thanks Mellster! Do you have any links for lymphatic massage you can forward? My swelling is left over from a toxic reaction I had after I took an antibiotic in December, which caused me to crash pretty severely. It's like my immune system is looking for something to fight which isn't there (I was taking the antibiotic as a preventative when my kids had pertussis). The weird thing is the swelling is not visible on the outside, I just feel it in my throat. I also feel slight ear pain/fullness. This is the lymph glands, isn't it?

mellster

Marco