• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Patients Like Me

I'm a fan of Patients Like Me, a Cambridge, MA company that has taken several patient communities by storm.

I don't know if there's been previous discussion of this on this forum (if so, I was not able to find much). They are doing for crowd-sourced, phenotypic research what companies like 23andMe have done for crowd-sourced, genetic research.

Again, I'm a total newbie here, but I've seen a lot of exchange of information about what kind of treatments have and have not worked for different patients with different symptoms, but no attempt to systematically collect or quantify the observational data that comes from all of this self-experimentation.

Patients Like Me has tools for this, and has started collaborating with researchers to produce scientific publications (see this PLM study on ALS in Nature: http://www.nature.com/nbt/journal/v29/n5/abs/nbt.1837.html)

Patients Like Me has a disease category called "CFS", one called "Fibromyalgia," and a combined CFS/ME/Fibromyalgia forum. One cannot choose "ME" as a disease on one's patient profile. My sense from looking at the CFS page: http://www.patientslikeme.com/conditions/27-chronic-fatigue-syndrome and the patient forum: http://www.patientslikeme.com/forum/fibromyalgia/topics is that the typical, big tent definition is being used, and one that may not be as helpful for research.

I think we should petition Patients Like Me to:

1) Create a disease category called myalgic encephalomyelitis which patients can select