• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

T3 sounds surprisingly effective -- is it?

FunkOdyssey

I've noticed alot of people mentioning positive results with T3, and it's second only to LDN on curetogether's CFS treatment survey for medical treatments. I have some questions for those experienced with it (this refers to T3-only, not T4 or dessicated thyroid):

1. Did you have lab evidence suggesting a need for T3 prior to starting (low free T3, high reverse T3, etc)?
  2. What does your protocol look like, in terms of form (cytomel vs compounded SR T3), dosage, times per day, etc?
  3. What do you think of Dr. Cheney's opinion that T3 is "the worst hormone you can give a CFS patient"? BS? Does your doctor express an opinion on it?
  4. What effects, positive or negative, have you noted from T3 treatment?

gu3vara

[*]Did you have lab evidence suggesting a need for T3 prior to starting (low free T3, high reverse T3, etc)? Not T3 specially, but I was hypothyroid so both T3 and T4 were lowish.

[*]What does your protocol look like, in terms of form (cytomel vs compounded SR T3), dosage, times per day, etc? I tried up to 20 mcg per day, with some synthroid too.

[*]What do you think of Dr. Cheney's opinion that T3 is "the worst hormone you can give a CFS patient"? I agree, if the person as a real case of CFS, not fatigue caused solely by hormones deficiency or imbalance. Guess you have to try to know, I did.

[*]What effects, positive or negative, have you noted from T3 treatment? Awful, made me hyper on low doses with arrhythmia, itchy a lot and I'm off of it now.